MrFlint.com

The online companion to your favorite class.

Last week

 

  • Sources of natural radiation and the Geiger counter

 

Monday, February 12

 

  • Types of radioactive decay and writing decay equations
  • Alpha decay and U-238
  • Carbon-14 formation in our atmosphere n + N-14 --> C-14 + p
  • Carbon-14 decay and beta minus product
  • Nitrogen-12 decay and beta plus product

 

Tuesday, February 13

 

  • Interference formula and its derivation showing sin theta is about tan theta.
  • Diffraction example problem with speaker and radio waves and laser at different widths.

 

Wednesday, February 14

 

  • Some more diffraction examples.

 

Thursday, February 15

 

  • P. 781 first problem set due
  • Go over problems

 

Tuesday, January 23

 

  • P. 781, 10-14 due
  • Go over problems

 

Wednesday, January 24

 

  • Transmission interference example with IR and windows
  • Stealth technology
  • Interference by reflection at thin films

 

Thursday, January 25

 

  • Wave gap interference examples and account for n if not vacuum
  •  

 

Friday, February 2

 

  • P. 815; 35-39, 46 due

 

Monday, February 5 - 2 hour delay

 

  • Test will be Wednesday due to 2 hour delay today
  • Intro. to Atomic & Nuclear energy
  • Forms of radioactive decay - alpha, beta, gamma
  • Sources of radiation and geiger counter demonstrations

 

Tuesday, February 6

 

  • Writing nuclear decay equations
  • Alpha particles as helium nucleii
  • Beta particles as electrons and positrons (with neutrinos)
  • Gamma decay as photons from the nucleus

 

Wednesday, February 28

 

  • P. 958; 15-17, 19-21 due
  • Go over problems together

 

AP Physics 2 - Nuclear Physics Unit

Atomic & Nuclear physics

Unit Outline with Standards

This website is created and hosted by Website.com's Site Builder.