MrFlint.com

The online companion to your favorite class.

Thursday, December 7

 

  • Plane mirrors
  • Description of virtual image that forms behind mirror.
  • Do ray tracing of object with dimension traveling to the eye from the mirror and the virtual image that forms
  • Do another ray tracing of multiple rays emanating from an object to the mirror and show the virtual image as convergence of reflected rays.
  • Define magnification as ratio image size to object size as well as ratio of image distance to object distance.

 

 

Friday, December 8

 

  • Problem with tree in reflection of plane mirror. How far do you have to stand from a 20 m tall tree to see its reflection in a 20 cm tall mirror if the mirror is 1 m from your eye?
  • Description of rear view mirror and its nighttime function. Descrption of passenger side mirror as a convex mirror. Show how concave and convex mirror images form as a function of distance to the object. Show how radius of curvature is found as a cutaway from a sphere.

 

Monday, December 11

 

  • Ray diagrams for convex mirrors.

 

Tuesday, December 12

 

  • Ray diagrams for concave mirrors

 

Wednesday, December 13

 

  • P. 781 first problem set due
  • Go over problems

 

Thursday, December 14

 

  • P. 781, 10-14 due
  • Go over problems

 

Friday, December 15

 

  • No class due to Holiday Concert rehearsal

 

Monday, December 18

 

  • Refraction at plane surfaces - ray diagrams and apparent distances
  • Types of mirrors
  • Convex lens ray diagram - the magnifying glass

 

Tuesday, December 19

 

  • Concave lens ray diagram

 

Wednesday, December 20

 

  • Virtual field trip to Hawaii's telescopes

 

Thursday, December 21

 

  • Work on problems

 

Tuesday, January 2

 

  • P. 782; 29-31, 34-35 due

 

Wednesday, January 3

 

  • Telescope design as a multiple element system
  • Light bucket principle

 

Thursday, January 4

 

  • Ray diagrams for multiple element systems

 

Friday, January 5 - No school - too cold or whatever

Monday, January 8

 

  • P. 782; 36-37, 39-41 due
  • Intro. to Mirror & Lens Lab

 

Tuesday, January 9 through Thursday, January 11

 

  • Mirror & Lens Lab

 

Friday, January 13

 

  • Chapter 23 Test

 

AP Physics 2 - Chapter 23

Mirrors & Lenses

Unit Outline with Standards

This website is created and hosted by Website.com's Site Builder.